[CINC] boat runs aground on SCI

Paul Jr. Petrich ppetrich39 at hotmail.com
Wed Oct 7 20:59:42 PDT 2009


Is the concern really wether the vessel was in an MPA? If so, an illegal act would require evidence of it fishing within the MPA, not traveling through it. Paul

Date: Wed, 7 Oct 2009 22:12:25 -0400
From: islandkayaker at earthlink.net
To: tara_brown_sb at yahoo.com; channel_islands_naturalist_corps at rain.org; kat at recycledgoods.com
CC: channel_islands_naturalist_corps-bounces at rain.org
Subject: Re: [CINC] boat runs aground on SCI



The four Northern Channel Islands are surrounded by the Channel Islands National Marine Sanctuary from mean high tide out to six miles...  If you hit the islands, you are in the sanctuary.

Regards,
Scott


-----Original Message-----

From: TARA BROWN 

Sent: Oct 7, 2009 9:44 PM

To: 'RAIN' , Kathryn Wasden 

Cc: channel_islands_naturalist_corps-bounces at rain.org

Subject: Re: [CINC] boat runs aground on SCI



This squid fishing boat was in the National Marine Sanctuary when it ran aground according to the photo caption.  What was it doing there?  Does anyone ask that question?  It was Tuesday when it was calm, not the week-end.
- Tara Brown 

--- On Wed, 10/7/09, Kathryn Wasden <kat at recycledgoods.com> wrote:


From: Kathryn Wasden <kat at recycledgoods.com>
Subject: [CINC] boat runs aground on SCI
To: "'RAIN'" <channel_islands_naturalist_corps at rain.org>
Cc: channel_islands_naturalist_corps-bounces at rain.org
Date: Wednesday, October 7, 2009, 3:17 PM






Article in the Star
http://www.venturacountystar.com/news/2009/oct/07/squid-boat-runs-aground-on-santa-cruz-island/
 
-----Inline Attachment Follows-----


_______________________________________________
Channel_islands_naturalist_corps mailing list
MailScanner has detected a possible fraud attempt from "us.mc383.mail.yahoo.com" claiming to be MailScanner has detected a possible fraud attempt from "us.mc383.mail.yahoo.com" claiming to be MailScanner has detected a possible fraud attempt from "us.mc383.mail.yahoo.com" claiming to be MailScanner has detected a possible fraud attempt from "us.mc383.mail.yahoo.com" claiming to be Channel_islands_naturalist_corps at rain.org
http://www.rain.org/mailman/l
 istinfo/channel_islands_naturalist_corps



       		 	   		  
_________________________________________________________________
Hotmail: Trusted email with powerful SPAM protection.
http://clk.atdmt.com/GBL/go/177141665/direct/01/
-------------- next part --------------
An HTML attachment was scrubbed...
URL: <http://www.rain.org/pipermail/channel_islands_naturalist_corps/attachments/20091007/f8f9f075/attachment.html>


More information about the Channel_islands_naturalist_corps mailing list